Tag Archives: Attahiru Jega

Former INEC Chairman, Jega Deregistered PRP, Disobeyed Court Judgement – Balarabe Musa

A former governor of Kaduna State, Balarabe Musa has said the the former chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Prof. Attahiru Jega refused to obey court judgement ordering the reinstatement of the People’s Redemption Party (PRP) after it was deregistered by INEC under his watch.

Musa, the chairman, Board of Trustees (BOT) of the PRP disclosed this in Kaduna on Monday when he fielded questions from journalists in his residence. He said the party then had to sue Jega for contempt of court. The BOT chairman said he learnt about Jega’s entry into the party in the media.

He said the former INEC chairman is welcomed to the party but called called for caution from party members.

“We have to exercise care and caution because who is Prof. Attahiru Jega? Prof.Jega was the INEC chairman, and under his chairmanship, PRP was deregistered. It became a big struggle for us.

“We approached the court, and the court restated the party. But we have to sue the INEC chairman for contempt of court because when the court gave the judgement that our party should be restated, he refused to give us the recognition.

“The same person is coming to the party he once deregistered. He is welcome because we cannot reject him and since our party is a public property and open to everyone, he is welcome” he said.

Jega had two weeks ago announced his membership of the PRP.


Former INEC Chairman, Jega Joins Partisan Politics 

Former National Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Professor Attahiru Jega has joined the Peoples Redemption Party (PRP). 

Jega was named as the chairman of the party’s SWOT analysis committee. According to a statement issued by the National Publicity Secretary of PRP, Abdul Gombe on Friday in Kaduna, the SWOT Committee was tasked with the responsibility of examining the party’s strengths, weaknesses as well as threats to its existence and to explore available opportunities ahead of the 2023 general elections. 

The statement said: “The PRP at its 62nd National Executive Committee (NEC) meeting held on June 22nd in Kaduna decided to set up three committees  to review the performance of the party in the 2019 general election with a view to repositioning the party for better performance in facing new challenges of Nigerian politics.

“On the basis of a critical analysis of these, the committee made up of some of the best intellectuals in Nigeria will recommend to the party, strategies to adopt for its survival and growth.

“The three committees are The SWOT Analysis Committee, Mobilisation Committee, Finance and Funding Committee.

“Membership of the mobilisation committee chaired by a person who has been in the PRP for 41 years is to examine and advise the party on how best to grow its membership using the best available methods bearing in mind current voters demography in Nigeria.

“Finance and funding committee whose membership has business persons will examine the current financial status of the PRP and existing funding methodologies as put in the party’s constitution and suggest how best to make the methodologies work as well as new ways of raising funds to make it a financially- stable party with a sustainable operation.”

Other members that made up the three committees include the publisher and chairman of the Trust newspapers, Malam Kabiru A. Yusuf, Prof. Momodu Kashim Momodu, Dr. George Kwanashie, Comrade Ayo Sando, Dr. Obi Osisiogwu, and Prof. Nath Abraham.

Others are Alhaji Sule Mohammed, Alhaji Abdul Gombe, Comrade Olajideh Wolimoh, Alhaji Musa Maigari, Rev. Emmanuel Aniebet, Mr. Malu Timothy Terzungine, and Alhaji Mohammed Bulama.

The rest committee members are Alhaji Falalu Bello, Barrister Hajiya Aisha Dankani, Mr James Magit, Alhaji Haruna Buhari, Mr. Jag Mulya, Alhaji Rabi’u Garba and Alhaji Umar Chikere.