PDP Taunts ‘Warsaw Commander’, Akpabio, APC Candidates After Defeat in Akwaibom Rerun Polls


The Akwaibom state chapter of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), on Sunday said the people of Akwaibom North West Senatorial District are happy to have rejected the Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Godswill Akpabio and other candidates of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Saturday’s rerun polls.

In a statement signed by its publicity secretary, Mr. Ini Ememobong said despite the candidates of the APC withdrawing from the elections, the people still went ahead to give them final interment.

“With the declared results by INEC of the court-ordered rerun elections in Essien Udim Local Government Area for the Senate, House of Representatives and House of Assembly seats, the people of Essien Udim have brought a glorious end to an inglorious, disdainful and disgraceful comedy session staged under the leadership of the national comedian himself and actively supported by the pioneer and only speaker of the house of comedy.

“Yesterday, the people of Essien Udim massively rejected the trio of Senator Godswill Akpabio, Hon. Emmanuel Akpan and Hon. Nse Ntuen who were candidates for the Senate, House of Representatives and House of Assembly of the All Progressives Congress. The people happily expanded the margin of victory against the “Warsaw Commander” and his lieutenants, despite their spirited attempts to rig the elections.

“The people saw through the facade they made with the withdrawal statements and went out in their numbers to give them an uncommon final interment.

“The trio had announced to the world that they had withdrawn from the elections, but were actively planning on how to spring a surprise, by rigging the elections in favour of their party, knowing that their withdrawal was not recognised by law and that if they win, they will be announced winners, returned elected and subsequently sworn in” the party said.

The Appeal Court has ordered a rerun poll in Essien Udim Local Government of the state after Akpabio, Emmanuel Akpan, the House of Representatives candidate and Nse Ntuen the House of Assembly candidate challenged the outcome of elections.

The trio however, withdrew from the rerun poll but the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) said they cannot withdraw or be substituted with another candidates.

According to the result announced by INEC on Saturday, Akpabio polled 6,903 votes while his main challenger and winner, Chris Ekpenyong of the PDP garnered 19,924 to bring his total to 134,717 against Akpabio’s 83,820 votes.

In the House of Representatives election, Mr Nsikak Ekong of the PDP polled 22, 235 to add to his previous votes taking the tally to 45,366 votes, the immediate past House of Reps member, Mr Emmanuel Akpan, of the APC, from Essien Udim, got only 6,003 like Akpabio; his total votes placed him in a distant second position with 22, 757 votes.

In the House of Assembly poll, Nse Ntuen of the APC suffered defeat with only 7, 108 votes against his PDP opponent, Mr Esse Umoh, who scored 18,999 votes and was declared the winner.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s