Kogi Guber Poll: APC NWC Clears Irukera

The National Working Committee (NWC) of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has cleared a governorship aspirant in Kogi state, Babatunde Irukera to contest the party’s governorship primary after it earlier ratified his disqualification.

In a statement issued by the party’s National Publicity Secretary, Malam Lanre Issa-Onilu on Wednesday, said Irukera met the conditions provided by the party’s guidelines for the nomination of party candidates within the window granted clarify his claims.

Irukera was earlier disqualified from contesting the primary by the Senator Hope Uzodimma-led screening committee for failing to meet requirements.

A total of nine aspirants have been cleared to contest the primary. The other aspirants aside Irukera are the state Governor, Yahaya Bello, Hadiza Ibrahim, Yahaya Audu, Sani Abdullahi, Alhaji Abubakar Bashir, Mr Danlami Mohammed, Yakubu Mohammed, Hassan Abdullahi and Blessing Ekele.

Those not cleared are Prof. Mohammed Onaili, Usman Jibrin, Mustapha Mona Audu, Rukkaya Ibrahim, Gen. Patrick Akpa and Muhammed Audu.

Supporters of Irukera had on Wednesday stormed the APC National Secretariat in Abuja to protest his initial disqualification by the screening committee.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s