PDP Sweeps Bayelsa LG Polls


The candidates of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) have been declared winners of all 8 chairmanship and 105 councillorship seats in Saturday’s local government elections in Bayelsa state.

According to the Bayelsa State Independent Electoral Commission (BYSIEC),44 political parties participated in the election except the All Progressives Congress (APC) that boycotted the election citing partisanship nature of the BYSIEC which it alleged was dominated by PDP members.

A breakdown of the results announced by BYSIEC includes, Diepreye Ubarugu of the PDP polled 42,539 votes to beat other contenders to emerge Chairman of Kolokuma-Opokuma LGA; while Alali Embelakpor was declared winner of Sagbama Chairmanship election with 96, 468 votes.

Kia Nigeria polled 107,150 votes to win in Southern Ijaw, Victor Isaiah the caretaker chairman for Brass Local Government Area won with 28,667 votes, while Ebinyo Turnah the caretaker chairman for Ogbia Local Government Area was returned as elected chairman with 17,661 votes.

Alalibo West was returned as winner in Nembe Local Government Area polling 54,562 votes, while Oropaye Nimizua was returned elected as the Mayor of Yenagoa City with scored 89,831 votes.

Bertola Pereke, was declared winner of the Ekeremor Local Government Council election, polling 62,529 votes to emerged winner.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s