Edo Assembly Crisis: Lawmakers-Elect to Impeach Obaseki for Disloyalty to Oshiomhole 


12 lawmakers-elect of the Edo state House of Assembly loyal to the faction of the All Progressives Congress (APC) led by the national chairman, Adams Oshiomhole who are yet to be inaugurated as members of the Assembly have passed a vote of no confidence on the state governor, Godwin Obaseki. 

The lawmakers-elect who convened at the penthouse Suite of Wells Carlton Hotel in Abuja in a motion on Tuesday sponsored by Edoror Victor, Saed Oshiomhole, Ojiezele Sunday, Osas Uwadiae, Sunday Aghedo, Osifo Washington, Okaeben Christopher, Crosby Eribo, Okunbor Nosayaba and Onaiwu Dumez, a copy of which was obtained by SK Blog, further resolved to impeach the governor based on nine grounds they listed as follows;

1. Sabotaging the activities of the legislature by actively preventing the legal swearing in of elected members of the State House of Assembly 
2. Masterminding attack on elected members of the state house of assembly 
3. Masterminding the unlawful swearing in of selected members of the state house of assembly to further his personal agenda without the knowledge of the grand majority of the members-elect
4. Acts of severe intimidation, bribery and high handedness 
5. Gross insubordination towards the All Progressives Congress, her national chairman and the very ideals that make up this great party. 
6. Lack of transparency in awarding of local government contracts
7. Mismanagement of state funds
8. Gross incompetence especially in the areas of security,job creation and rural development. 
9. Establishment of state agencies without due consent and approval from house of assembly ”

See resolution 

The clerk of the House of assembly, Audu Yahaya had on June 17 inaugurated lawmakers-elect only loyal to the governor at around 9:30pm without inviting the others belonging to the Oshiomhole’s camp. The inaugurated members were  Hon. Nosa Okunbor; Hon. Henry Okuarobo; Hon. Uyi Ekhosuehi; Hon. Marcus Onobun; Hon. Ephraim Anehbosele; Hon. Roland Asoro; Hon. Eric Okaka; Hon Frank Okiye and Hon Yekini Idiaye. 

The House of Representatives on Tuesday, following a motion sponsored by Professor Julius Ihonvbere, member representing Akoko-Edo federal constituency, raised a 13-member committee led by Abdulrazak Namadas to investigate the crisis in the assembly with a view to reconciling the warring parties and to report back within a week. Lawmakers-elect loyal to Oshiomhole’s camp attended Tuesday’s plenary of the House of Representatives in Abuja. 

The crisis in the Assembly is the fall out of the supremacy battle between Obaseki and his predecessor, Oshiomhole. Obaseki fell out with Oshiomhole who is alleged to be scheming to replace him with another candidate ahead of next year’s gubernatorial election in the state. 

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s