May 29 : See What Is Going to Happen Today 

Today is Inauguration Day in Nigeria and in few hours tenures of President Muhammadu Buhari and 29 states governors will end. Buhari will be sworn in today for a second term in office following his victory in a highly controversial election that was marred by allegations of rigging and violence. Mr. Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) is currently in court challenging the outcome of that election. 
9 states governors will bow out today having served out their full tenures paving way for their successors, 17 others will be sworn in for a second term in office. 3 states governors who failed to win reelection will vacate office today. 12 governors will begin their first term in office today. 
Governorship elections did not hold in Edo, Ondo, Ekiti, Bayelsa, Osun,Kogi and Anambra states because the tenures of the state governors are yet to elapse. 
See a breakdown of the governors that will be be sworn in today.
Prof. Ben Ayade (PDP) Cross River – second term

MaiMala Buni (APC) Yobe State – first term

Babajide Sanwo-Olu (APC) Lagos State – first term

Dapo Abiodun (APC) Ogun – first term

Ifeanyi Okowa (PDP) Delta. – second term

Babagana Zulum (APC) Borno – first term

Mallam Nasir El-Rufai (APC) Kaduna) – second term

Emeka Ihedioha (PDP) Imo – first term

Aminu Masari (APC) Katsina – second term

Atiku Bagudu (APC) Kebbi – second term

Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq (APC) Kwara – first term

Abdullahi Sule (APC) Nasarawa – first term 

Abubakar Bello ( APC) Niger State. – second term 

Bello Muhammad Matawalle (PDP) Zamfara – first term

Darius Ishaku (PDP) Taraba – second term 

Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi – (PDP) Enugu State. – second term 

David Umahi – (PDP) Ebonyi State – second term 

Inuwa Yahaya (APC) Gombe State – first term 

Muhammad Badaru (APC) Jigawa State – second term 

Okezie Ikpeazu (PDP) Abia State – second term 

Seyi Makinde (PDP) Oyo State – first term 

Emmanuel Udom (PDP) Akwa Ibom State – second term 

Nyesom Wike (PDP) Rivers state – second term

Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri (PDP) Adamawa state – first term 

Bala Mohammed (PDP) Bauchi state – first term 

Simon Lalong (APC) Plateau state – second term 

Samuel Ortom (PDP) Benue state – second term 

Umar Ganduje (APC) Kano state – second term 

Aminu Tambuwal (PDP) Sokoto state – second  term
See outgoing governors
Ibrahim Gaidam (APC) Yobe state

Akinwunmi Ambode (APC) Lagos state – failed to win reelection 

Ibikunle Amosun (APC) Ogun state

Kashim Shettima (APC) Borno state

Rochas Okorocha (APC) Imo state

Abdulfatah Ahmed (PDP) Kwara state

Ibrahim Dankwambo (PDP) Gombe state

Abiola Ajimobi (APC) Oyo

Bindow Jibrilla (APC) Adamawa state – failed to win reelection 

Mohammed Abubakar (APC) Bauchi state – failed to win reelection 

Abdulaziz Yari (APC) Zamfara state

Tanko Almakura (APC) Nasarawa state


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s